CWWC- Entry three

Suilad! It’s Kiki! Here’s entry three!

Loren, I used these prompts:

“Bricks have stories”, my Father used to say. “They’ve seen generations and generations. People doing good and bad. Births and deaths. Arguments and Apologies. Celebrations and mournings. They’ve seen it all; don’t underestimate them, Son”.

When I was young it made perfect sense but as I grew older ‘perfect’ turned into no. I want to understand but I just can’t. I mean, bricks? I could understand if he said trees. But seriously bricks? It’s just clay that been formed and dried. They don’t live or have feelings. Or do they?

I wish I knew the answer. I wish he was alive. But even when he was he wouldn’t answer me anyway. He would just say:

“One day, you’ll understand, Grayson”.

I’m anxious for that day to come. It could happen anytime and anywhere. I’m still a minor so it couldn’t happen now could it? All I know is that it’s breakfast and I’m craving donuts.

As I walked to the donut shop, fresh air filled my mind and cleared out my worries. My thoughts now revolved around: school, donuts, homecoming, Harper, ya know, all that good stuff.

I saw that the lights weren’t on for the donut shop but the door was wide open. My brain’s telling me to stay but my legs are saying the opposite. I gave it some thought and came to the conclusion that, looking in won’t hurt anybody. So, in I went. No lights we’re on except for one in the kitchen.

“Hello?” I asked. “Is anybody in here?”

I crept into the kitchen and saw a black writing on the white brick wall and book in the middle of the floor. The writing read: “Ask no questions and you’ll get no lies”.
I grabbed the book and opened it. On the first page there was a photograph of a log cabin and underneath writing. “I can always see you” is what it read. All the other pages were burned. You don’t think that what my Dad has been warning me about is happening now, do you? This isn’t good. This isn’t good at all. Then I heard a familiar voice, It was Harper’s.

“Grayson, what are you doing here?”

I hope you enjoyed!

Ps: I’ve updated my ‘about me’ page so it looks a little more professional πŸ˜‰

11 thoughts on “CWWC- Entry three

Leave a Reply

